Nick Cipiti, President

Nick Cipiti has been on the NWCA Board since 2016 and has been a Columbus area resident for more than 25 years. He has a BBA from Kent State and an MBA from John Carroll. Nick works at the Ohio Department of Taxation and has served on the boards of the Central Ohio Red Cross, Boys and Girls Club, Kiwanis, Clintonville Rotary, and the Clintonville Area Commission, where he served as Secretary and Vice Chair. Nick has two sons who served in the US Marine Corps and a daughter who is preparing for the CPA exam.  He can be contacted at or 614-506-5411.

Ruth Royal    Ruth Royal, Vice President                                                                    Social/Membership Committee Co-Chair 

Ruth Royal has been an NWCA Trustee for more than ten years. She has lived in Columbus her entire life and has lived in the northwest community for over 30 years.  She works in State Auditor Yost’s office as Administrative Receptionist.  She has one son who was a former Mr. Ohio.

 IMG_9380   Alyson Miles, Secretary

Alyson is currently the Deputy Director of Government Affairs for the American Federation for Children and has lived in Columbus for over 15 years. She earned her law degree from Capital University Law School and was admitted to the Ohio bar in 2012. She earned her undergraduate degrees from The Ohio State University.

Julie Schlosser, Treasurer                                                                 Social/Membership Committee Co-Chair

Julie Schlosser has been on the NWCA Board for four years and has been a resident of Northwest Columbus (Sycamore Hills) for 25 years.  Julie has been married 34 years and has two grown sons who are both graduates of Centennial High School.  Julie has experience in the fields of law, commercial real estate, and commercial real estate appraisals and currently works in the commercial appraisal department at Huntington Bank.  She is a member of Upper Arlington Lutheran Church, and likes to support The Salvation Army, the USO, Operation Christmas Child, and Best Friends Animal Sanctuary.

DSC01668-4   Marilyn Goodman – Graphics & Zoning Committee Chair  

Marilyn was the President of Northwest Civic Association in 2009-2010 and chaired NWCA’s  Candidate Night from 2008-2010.  She lives in the Riverside Green neighborhood.  She has a Bachelor’s Degree in psychology from Kenyon College in Gambier, Ohio, and a Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Xavier University in Cincinnati.  She became a psychotherapist and served as Executive Director or CEO of four nonprofit behavioral healthcare organizations.  Seeking a new career in the law, Marilyn received her Paralegal Certificate from Capital University Law School in 2007.  She worked as a Paralegal at Hexion Specialty Chemicals, Ohio Legal Rights Service, the Ohio Attorney General’s Office and JPMorgan Chase before retiring in July 2017.

Dennis Damon  Dennis Damon – Social/Membership Committee Co-Chair

Dennis has lived in northwest Columbus 23 years.  He has a degree in Business Education from the University of Findlay and worked at Ohio State University 18 years.  He was a high school teacher and softball coach of middle and high school players for 9 years and a youth softball and baseball coach for 22 seasons.  He was on the Board of the Columbus Ski Club and has served as a Block Watch Captain in the Riverside Green neighborhood.



John Ehlers – Airport and Sheep Farm Committees Chair

John served twice on the NWCA board, first during 2006-2008 and again since September 2011 and served as the President for many years.  He believes that  NWCA membership is a unique opportunity for local residents to participate in decisions that affect them and the community to protect the quality of life we enjoy in northwest Columbus.

John Fortkamp  John Fortkamp – Streets & Safety Committee Chair

John has a Bachelor’s Degree from Purdue University.  He was the National Sales Manager for SDI, a division of Borden, Inc.  He was the President and Chairman of Charity Newsies, an organization that ensures that no child shall be kept out of school for lack of adequate clothing.

john_guroy   John Guroy – Code Enforcement Committee Chair

John is a lifetime resident of northwest Columbus.  He is a graduate of Centennial High School and has an Associate Degree in Science that included course work in Fire Sciences.  As a member of Columbus Firefighters Local 67, he has participated in contract negotiations and the Mutual Aid Response Committee.  John owns Guroy Lawn Care, a lawn care and landscape business serving both commercial and residential properties.

kit-logsdon.jpg   Catherine (Kit) Logsdon – Parks, Recreation & Bikeways Committee Chair

Kit lived in Clintonville and decided to retire in northwest Columbus.  She has a Bachelor’s Degree in Finance and a Master’s of Business Administration and worked at the Ohio Housing Finance Agency for many years.  She served on the Clintonville Area Commission and volunteered at the Columbus Coalition for the Homeless, the Clintonville Community Resource Center and Communities in Schools.  Kit has been involved in fundraising for Operation Feed, church festivals and several nonprofit organizations.

Additional member:

Jim Burkart, Parliamentarian